Winners Of Al-Tayeb Salih Creative Writing Award Announced

Winners Of Al-Tayeb Salih Creative Writing Award Announced

KHARTOUM (Sudanow) - The first prize of the 8th al-Tayeb Salih Creative Writing Award went to Mr. Faisal Hartsh from Syria (novel category) while the second and third prize of this category went to Omer Fadlalla and Ms. Malka al-Fadil respectively, both from Sudan.

Winners of the top three prizes of the short story category are Ms. Khadija Ykin, Morocco, Mr. Hassan Hameed, Palestine, and Mr. Hafeez Sufahi, Morocco.

Mohamed Ismaiel, Egypt, Mabrook Daridi, Algeria, and Ms. Amna Mohamed Abdou, Yemen, have won the first three prizes in the category of critic studies respectively.

Anthropology Professor Sayyed Hamd Heraiz was named Culture Personality of the year.

The awards were presented Thursday night during a ceremony organized at the Friendship Hall and attended by the First Vice President cum Prime Minister Bakri Hassan Salih, representatives of diplomatic corps and Arab communities.

626 contestants from 28 countries have presented their works for the 8th session of the Tayeb Salih International Award for Creative Writing.

Starting in 2010, the Contest is held annually in honor of the late Sudanese-international Novelist al-Tayeb Salih.




Post your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sudanow is the longest serving English speaking magazine in the Sudan. It is chartarized by its high quality professional journalism, focusing on political, social, economic, cultural and sport developments in the Sudan. Sudanow provides in depth analysis of these developments by academia, highly ...


Recent tweets

FOLLOW Us On Facebook

Contact Us

Address: Sudan News Agency (SUNA) Building, Jamhoria Street, Khartoum - Sudan

Mobile:+249 909220011 / +249 912307547